Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (2023)

This post may contain affiliate links for which I earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. For more information, see mineDisclosure Policy. Thank you for your support!

I've been seeing a lot of questions about this latelygluten free oat milkso I wanted to post to clear up any confusion.

Oats are often a tricky thing when you first start a gluten-free diet.

When it comes to oat milk, there is a lot of confusion in the UK about what gluten free milk is.

But actually it is very simple. And I'm going to prove it with my super easy guide to gluten free oat milk in the UK!

I will try to update this guide as much as possible, but everything was correct at the time of publishing (April 2021).

As always recipes change regularly so always check the ingredients.

I recommend using or downloading the Celiac UK Food and Drink GuideFood scanning app.

Are oats gluten free?

Let's start by explaining oats and why some are not suitable for a gluten-free diet.

Oats themselves do not contain gluten. But often there is cross-contamination with gluten-containing cultures due to the way they are processed.

Therefore, in Britain,only oats labeled gluten-free REALLY contain no gluten.

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (1)

It really is that simple.

Any oat products not labeled gluten-free are not safe for consumption on a gluten-free diet.

That's because they don't meet strict gluten-free standards of less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

It's also important to note that many people with celiac disease cannot tolerate oats.

This is because they contain a protein called avenin.

Avenin may cause a gluten-like reaction in some people with celiac disease.

(Video) Mayo Clinic experts weigh in on gluten-free diets

If you find you have a hard time tolerating even gluten-free oats, it's best to talk to your doctor or dietician.

So is oat milk gluten free?

The meaning of whether oat milk is gluten free or notexactly the samewhich means whether the oats are gluten free or not.

If you're in the UK and oat milk is labeled gluten-free, then you're good to go.

If not, it is not gluten free.

There's really no other way to explain it. And be careful with that barista-esque almond milk (and other non-dairy milks), as oat milk is sometimes added.

But what about low-gluten oat milk?

I will tell you directly:stop listening to this "low-gluten" nonsense if you have celiac disease or are on a gluten-free diet for medical reasons.

Following a gluten-free diet is just that - GLUTEN-FREE. Gluten free.

Ni kapi.


Low gluten is not gluten free.

Low gluten oat milk is not gluten free.

Baristas who try to tell you they are are misinformed.

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (2)

If you have only a mild intolerance or choose to avoid gluten, that's fine.

But if you need to follow a gluten free diet - ispecialif you have celiac disease - low gluten is not good enough.

I'm sorry I broke that bubble.

Gluten Free Oat Milk Brands (UK)

The good news is that while most oat milks aren't gluten-free, there are some good ones.

Which means if you can tolerate gluten-free oats in your diet, you can follow this oat milk latte trend.

(Video) Gluten Intolerance Symptoms (9 EARLY SIGNS You Are Gluten Intolerant!) *Non-Celiac*

I've only come across a few oat milks in the UK that are specifically labeled as gluten free:

It is important to note that this is only themspecificallyproducts that do not contain gluten and are clearly labeled as such.

Alpro makes a wide variety of oat milks - including many other oat milks for baristas - that are NOT gluten-free.

I understand barista gluten free oat milk is usually only sold wholesale, but a few people have reported seeing it in Tesco or Sainsbury's.

It's a shareand on Amazon here.

Rude Health also makes an oat milk for baristas that is NOT made with gluten-free oats.

So be sure to look for one that is clearly labeled gluten-free.

That's why it's so important to double, triple check the labels, as many of them are very similar and can easily get confused.

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (3)

Is Oatly gluten free?

Oatly is the oat milk of choice in most cafes, but I'm sorry that Oatly is NOT gluten free in the UK.

Although Oatly claims to be "very low in gluten," it isit isfalls below 20 ppm and is therefore not safe for people following a gluten-free diet.

Interestingly, I think the confusion stems from the fact that Oatly is actually certified gluten-free in the US.

I can only hope that eventually they will consider certifying their European and Asian products as it would make life so much easier!

Considering that gluten free oat milk is used in most coffee shops, is this a problem when it comes to oat milk in coffee shops?

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (4)

Oat milk in cafes

A few years ago, veganism hit the UK scene and suddenly oat milk appearedoveral overal.

And because it's cheaper, almost all pubs in the UK (except a few independent ones) use oat milk, which contains gluten.

Great if you're vegan or don't eat dairy - not so good if you don't eat gluten and especially if you have celiac disease.

Costa Coffee oat milk no longer contains gluten

When I first wrote this article about oat milk, Costa had literally switched to using gluten-free oat milk from Alpro Barista.

(Video) How Long Does It Take For Gluten To Leave Your System?

But as of December 30, 2021, the oat milk they use is no longer gluten free.

And to make matters worse, their updated nutrition and allergen information now lists soy and coconut milk as "may contain wheat."

I contacted Costa to inquire about this and received the following response:

"As part of our new menu for January [2022], we have switched suppliers of dairy alternatives. Consumers can still enjoy the full range of alternative milk flavors they have come to expect from Costa, including oat, soy, almond and coconut. We've updated oursA guide to nutrition and allergiesto reflect these changes and while the new oat flavor does not contain wheat, we have included information that "may contain" in line with our supplier risk assessment. You can find updated information in store or online, and we also have a new counter card in stores to notify customers of the change."

Costa Coffee representative

Some stores may be using old stock so as always I recommend checking with the individual store and I'll update as soon as I have more information.

Sadly, it looks like they'll be back to the old routine now, with Costa grilling the barista staff and asking them to wipe out all the equipment/use the unused steamer.

And if you have celiac diseaseiyou usually drink coconut or soy milk, I'm afraid you better find a new place to have your morning coffee.

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (5)

A nutritionist's point of view

Celiac disease isn't just about eating gluten-free foods.

You must beergwatch out for cross-contamination — that is, the tiniest bits of gluten that end up in your gluten-free food.

So with shared steamers in cafes, what risk does this pose to those on a gluten-free diet?

Gordon MacAndrewis a Registered Dietitian in Gastroenterology with NHS Lanarkshire.

It operates as part of Scotland's only permanently funded gastroenterology diet service, seeing patients with IBS and celiac disease.

Mr. McAndrew explains that celiac patients are generally advised to continue eating gluten-free oats after their initial diagnosis.

But it is best to do it under the guidance of a nutritionist so that all symptoms can be controlled.

When it comes to coffee shops, Mr. McAndrew advises people with celiac disease to ask as many questions as possible to see if it's safe.

'We always advise celiac patients to be careful when eating out'says Mr. McAndrew.

"It's the same when we think about using oat milk in coffee shops.


“You should clarify that you have celiac disease and ask about existing cross-contamination practices.

"If they can't tell you they've taken all the necessary precautions or you have any doubts, it's best to avoid it.

"The risk of cross-contamination can be reduced by taking proper precautions."

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (6)

My personal experience

Personally, I take each cafe as it comes.

When I go to a busy coffee shop, I usually order an Americano with cold milk, so there's no risk of anything coming in contact with those potentially frothy oats.

But anyone who knows me knows I'm a straight white girl, so if I think I can definitely enjoy it - then I will!

My local Costa Coffee stores (before GF oat milk was introduced) were always excellent when I went to order.

After I explain this to them, they always use another steamer (which is rarely used at my local store anyway) and clean it thoroughly before I make my drink.

I find that most coffee shops only use one steamer regularly, which means the other one is probably cleaner.

Also, on several occasions, the staff insisted that only the manager make my drinks, which made me feel taken seriously.

I find it's easier to understand if you explain it as "oat milk allergy" rather than "colic", especially if you're trying to talk through face masks.

Overall the staff were very helpful and personally I didn't feel bad drinking somewhere where they followed these procedures.

While there is no definitive answer to the question of how high the risk of cross-contamination is, I can only advise you to follow your instincts.

If you're not sure if you're drinking somewhere that uses gluten-free oat milk, order tea, black coffee, or another beverage.

Or, if you're lucky, you might find a coffee shop that doesn't serve oat milk or serves something gluten-free!

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (7)


Firstly, if you made it this far, congratulations, I'm glad I managed to hold your attention for so long, I hope it was worth it.

In short, gluten-free oats and oat milk should not be confused.



  • People with celiac disease shouldonly eat gluten-free oats.
  • People with celiac disease shouldonly drink oat milk labeled "gluten-free"
  • While the risk of cross-contamination in coffee shops is uncertain, it should bealways ask questions, clarify that you have celiac disease andmake your own judgments.

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to check out some of my other celiac tips!

  • Guide to gluten-free sauces and condiments
  • Frequently asked questions about my celiac disease
  • Gluten-free sauce and broth in cubes
  • What is gluten free at McDonald's (UK)?

Do you like this post about gluten-free oats?Pin upfor later!

Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (8)
Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (9)
Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger (10)


Your Guide To Gluten Free Oat Milk (UK) - Gluten Free Blogger? ›

While oats are a gluten-free grain, many are cross-contaminated with gluten — meaning that not all oat milks are gluten-free. If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you should only buy oat milk that's certified gluten-free by a third-party organization.

Can you drink oat milk if you are gluten-free? ›

While oats are a gluten-free grain, many are cross-contaminated with gluten — meaning that not all oat milks are gluten-free. If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you should only buy oat milk that's certified gluten-free by a third-party organization.

Is oat milk gluten-free UK? ›

Oat milk is low in allergens, so many people are liking to use it. It is safe for those with a gluten intolerance, nut allergy, or lactose intolerant. Oat milk also has a creamy texture, making it popular with baristas and coffee fans.

Which oat milks are certified gluten-free? ›

Gluten-free Oat Milk Brands
  • Elmhurst. Elmhurst is a New York-based dairy company that was founded in 1925. ...
  • Planet Oat. ...
  • Califia Farms. ...
  • Happy Planet. ...
  • Mooala. ...
  • Oatly.

Is Oatly oat milk safe for celiacs? ›

Yes, all of our US products are certified gluten-free by GFCO (The Gluten-Free Certification Organization).

Why is Starbucks oat milk not gluten-free? ›

In bringing oat milk into the equation, Starbucks have made their hot drinks completely unavailable to people with coeliac disease. The same steam nozzle is used for all Starbucks drinks, so – you guessed it – your go-to latte will now be cross-contaminated with oats. Completely unnecessarily.

Is Trader Joe's oat milk celiac safe? ›

Trader Joe's: The oat milk in the refrigerated section of Trader Joe's is gluten-free. However, it does contain emulsifiers and sunflower oil. Mooala: This brand makes delicious oat milk that is certified gluten-free, non-GMO, and has no added sugar.

Why are oats gluten-free in UK? ›

Oats do not contain gluten. They contain a similar protein called avenin and research has shown that most people with coeliac disease can safely eat avenin.

Is Oatly milk gluten-free Europe? ›

Allergens & Specifications

In the US, our products are made from certified gluten-free oats and (consequently) labelled as gluten-free. In Europe and Asia, however, our products contain a small amount of gluten (less than 100ppm mg/kg product to be specific).

Is Starbucks oat milk gluten-free UK? ›

There's no gluten in oats unless it's contaminated - pretty much like any other food. The oat milk Starbucks use is not gluten free and therefore not suitable for people with coeliac disease.

Why do celiacs react to oats? ›

Even though oats are naturally gluten-free, a small portion of people with celiac disease still react to them. Research suggests that a protein in oats called avenin can trigger a similar response to gluten, though it is thought to be a separate sensitivity.

Is Starbucks oat milk no longer gluten-free? ›

There is always a risk of cross contamination with gluten products when you order a flavored, blended drink. IS STARBUCKS OAT MILK GLUTEN-FREE? Starbucks claims to use Oatly milk, which is certified gluten-free.

Why isn t Oatly gluten-free? ›

The gluten content of Oatly products sold in the UK is not quite that low, so we can't currently claim that they are gluten-free. That said, we do have strict requirements regarding the purity of the oats we use and we're careful to control and minimise gluten cross-contamination as much as possible.

Can some celiacs tolerate oats? ›

Many studies confirm that pure (uncontaminated) oats are safely tolerated by most people with coeliac disease. However, in some people with coeliac disease, oat consumption can trigger a potentially harmful immune response.

Can celiacs have GF oats? ›

Most people with coeliac disease can eat gluten free oats. Many standard oats are produced in the same place as wheat, barley and rye, which makes them unsafe because they can be contaminated. A very small number of people are still sensitive to gluten free oats.

Is Planet Oat milk gluten-free for celiacs? ›

Yes, Planet Oat Oatmilk and Creamers are gluten free. Is Planet Oat Oatmilk tree nut free? Yes, Planet Oat Oatmilk is tree nut free.

Is Costco oat milk gluten-free? ›

Is Costco oat milk gluten-free? Although there are no specific gluten-containing ingredients in this oat milk, it is not considered a gluten-free product. This brand of oat milk has vegan, dairy-free, and nut-free labels on it, but no gluten-free.

Is chobani oat milk gluten-free? ›

Chobani Oat Milk, Plain Oat Barista Edition, Shelf Stable Non Dairy Milk, Creamer, Vegan Friendly, Gluten-Free, 32 FL OZ (Pack-3)

Why did Starbucks discontinue oat milk? ›

Conversation. We temporarily removed oatmilk from our app due to outages at some stores in the US. Don't worry, the Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso is part of our core menu and will be back when we restock.

Is oat milk gluten free Kirkland? ›

Costco's oat milk brand is Kirkland Signature Organic. The packaging has dairy-free, organic, vegan, and nut-free labels – but it's missing the all-important gluten-free label.

Are Bob's Red Mill gluten free oats celiac safe? ›

At last, oats that people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance can enjoy, too! All of the oat groats we receive undergo an R5 ELISA test to ensure they contain no more than 19 parts per million of gluten. Our groats are then steamed and rolled to create the ideal texture.

Is Dunkin Donuts oat milk gluten free? ›

Planet Oat Oatmilk is also vegan-friendly*, and free of gluten, artificial flavors, preservatives and colors. One deliciously cool way that guests can enjoy oatmilk at Dunkin' is in our Oatmilk Iced Latte, which is made with rich, handcrafted espresso and creamy oatmilk for a tasty twist on our beloved lattes.

How close are we to a cure for celiac disease? ›

There will be no approved treatments or a cure for celiac disease without clinical trials. That means there will be no approved treatments or a cure for celiac disease if we can't find patients willing to participate in clinical trials.

Why are oats not gluten-free in Australia? ›

It is not uncommon, especially in Australia, for oats to be processed in a facility that also processes other gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley or rye, so oats can be contaminated at this stage with gluten.

Is gluten different in the UK? ›

American wheat is higher in gluten.

In Europe, the majority of wheat grown in Europe is soft wheat, which is lower in gluten. Julia Child famously lamented trying to make French-style bread with American flour. She couldn't do it because the gluten content was too high in the American stuff.

Does Aldi oat milk have gluten? ›

Aldi's Actileaf brand oat milks are not gluten free because they're made using oats which are not certified gluten free oats.

Is Oatly milk good for IBS? ›

Oat milk is low FODMAP in small 30ml (1/8 cup) serves but larger serves of 125ml (1/2 cup) are high FODMAP, meaning oat milk is not a suitable milk alternative for everyday use.

Does Starbucks use Oatly? ›

What oat milk is used at Starbucks? There are several oat milk brands on the market today. However, Starbucks exclusively uses Oatly Barista Edition oat milk in its coffee beverages since 2021.

What oat milk does Starbucks use UK? ›

Starbucks offers a variety of oat milk options in Canada and the UK. For example, in Canada, Starbucks has Oatly's original oat milk, while in the UK, Starbucks has both Oatly's original oat milk and Barista Edition oat milk.

Is so good barista oat milk gluten free? ›

Ingredients. Filtered water, oat flour (9%), vegetable oils (sunflower, canola), minerals (phosphorus, calcium), salt, antioxidant (ascorbic acid), vitamins (B12, A, B2, B1). Contains cereals containing gluten.

Is Barista brand oat milk gluten free? ›

Pacific Natural Foods Oat Milk Barista Series-Non-Dairy Gluten Free- 32 oz ea- case of 4.

Which milk alternative is best for gluten-free? ›

For many people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the answer is almond milk or some other type of nut milk. And fortunately, these nut milks are growing in popularity, so there's a generous handful now from which to choose.

What milk is best for gluten intolerance? ›

All types of plain cow's milk are naturally free of gluten.

Is oat milk or almond milk better for you? ›

Oat milk has the added benefit of being both nut-free and dairy-free, which is a plus for those who may have nut allergies. And oat milk has a higher fat and protein content than almond milk, which helps with satiety."

Does oat milk cause bloating? ›

Oat milk may cause side effects like gas and bloat. Additionally, it may also interact with medications used for diabetes and may cause the blood sugar levels to go too low.

How do you flush gluten and dairy? ›

Gluten stays in your system for approximately three weeks. So, the best way to do a modified elimination diet of gluten and dairy is to eliminate them both for three full weeks. That means not even a bite of bread or a beer or creamer in the coffee; zero of each of those foods for the entire three weeks.

Does cottage cheese have gluten? ›

Cottage cheese is usually gluten-free, but some brands may contain wheat starch or modified food starch made from wheat. Check the ingredient list to make sure. Read more about “modified food starch” in Answers from a Dietitian. Cream cheese is gluten-free.

What is the best milk to have with IBS? ›

Your best choices are:
  • Lactose-free milk.
  • Coconut milk (1/2 cup limit)
  • Rice milk.
  • Almond milk (small quantities)
Jan 14, 2023

Is oat milk anti inflammatory? ›

Oats are also rich in antioxidants and are the only food that contains a compound called Avenanthramide that gives it, among other things, anti-inflammatory properties.

What is healthier than oat milk? ›

If you prefer a lower-carb milk alternative, almond milk may be a better choice.

Is oat milk easier on the stomach than almond milk? ›

Frothier and more full-bodied than nut milk, oat milk tastes a bit closer to cow's milk, and it seems to be more gentle on the gut.

Why did Starbucks stop selling Oatmilk? ›

Conversation. We temporarily removed oatmilk from our app due to outages at some stores in the US. Don't worry, the Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso is part of our core menu and will be back when we restock.

Why did Starbucks remove Oatmilk? ›

Conversation. Some stores in the US have a shortage of oatmilk and so we have temporarily removed oatmilk and drinks made with oatmilk from the app until we are able to restock inventory. We appreciate your patience while we work hard to get oatmilk back in stores.

Is Walmart brand oat milk gluten free? ›

Oatly Original Oat Milk Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Sugar Free, Non GMO, Vegan 3-Pack 32 fl oz. -


1. What I Put Into My Smoothies (Gluten-Free & Dairy-Free)
(Clean Eating Kitchen)
2. Gluten Free Scones Recipe
(The Gluten Free Blogger)
(Becky Excell)
4. 3 Ways to Make Gluten Free Flour Mixes - All Purpose, Whole Grain, and a Cookie Mix
(Mary's Nest)
5. realistic what i eat in a day gluten free !!
(lucia cordaro)
6. The BEST Gluten Free Brunch in London || How To Coeliac
(How To Coeliac)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

Last Updated: 09/09/2023

Views: 6184

Rating: 5 / 5 (70 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: The Hon. Margery Christiansen

Birthday: 2000-07-07

Address: 5050 Breitenberg Knoll, New Robert, MI 45409

Phone: +2556892639372

Job: Investor Mining Engineer

Hobby: Sketching, Cosplaying, Glassblowing, Genealogy, Crocheting, Archery, Skateboarding

Introduction: My name is The Hon. Margery Christiansen, I am a bright, adorable, precious, inexpensive, gorgeous, comfortable, happy person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.